Merry Christmas

Here I sit, on Christmas Eve, counting my many blessings.  I have my husband and our children, our parents and friends, our home, good jobs, our health and my passion for writing.  I probably don’t deserve any of it, but I’m so grateful to have had another wonderful year of love and laughter.  It hasn’t always been this way.

Tonight, as I write this by the light of my gold-trimmed Christmas tree and my pug snoring in her bed next to me, I think about those who can’t be with their loved ones, like the men and women in our military who are stationed overseas, or those who may have been disowned by their families. I think of those who are homeless or fighting addictions and those who are ill or otherwise lost.  I pray for those who need it, like the 18 year old boy that my son played baseball with who, home visiting from college for the holidays, was in a horrible car wreck and fighting for his life, and I pray for my friend who will spend her Christmas in the hospital where her mother has spent the last couple of weeks.  It all makes me even more appreciative of my blessings.

As we near the end of 2016, I wish you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas and all the best in the upcoming new year.  May you be as blessed as I am, and may you have love and laughter in all of your days.

 

Leave a Reply

